Organic Apples in Central New York!

Fabulous post. Thanks!

katiejeancooks

20130902-213004.jpg

There are many reasons to love Fall in Central New York and at the top of my list is apple picking. My grandparents farmed an apple orchard near Canandaigua, NY and my cousins and siblings and I spent many happy fall afternoons “helping” with the apple harvest. I realize now, we probably weren’t all that helpful, but we loved being a part of it. We watched in awe as hundreds of apples rolled along the huge sorting machine in the barn, the best ones eventually making their way into the bags to be sold to the customers. Now that I have children of my own, taking them apple picking brings back so many of those memories.

New York State is the second largest grower of apples in the United States (the state of Washington is first) so it’s obviously quite easy to find local sources of apples where we live…

View original post 480 more words

Leave a Reply

