Fall Past & Winter Come

signs of winter 2I slowly lay down my head and give in, the short days of summer and light days of fall have passed.
~~~

All too soon the winter cold has arrived.
~~~

Normally I don’t mind so much and always have a positive outlook. But this year the summer came and went like it never existed. I feel gypped out of at least a month of summer.
~~~

Alas, time to pull up the boot straps and hit winter head on. Breathe in the fresh air, “I say”. Man it is bitter cold, a mere 3°. We got the Northern wind that came flying in and made it look like the Ice Age.
~~~

Notice the picture to your left. This is the street by my house. The pic was taken right before our cold spell hit.

Since then, it’s been to darn cold to step outdoors to get a shot of the snow covered hills and mountains. I’ll adjust soon enough. There will be plenty of snow covered days
~~~

christmas tree 2So, this is my last bit of complaining before I put on my smiley face and start really enjoying the beauty that surrounds me. The fresh clean snow on the ground, turkeys huddled close, deer that hang out in my yard without a care in the world, a pine tree in the night light up for Christmas and traces in the snow of a curious night creature that peered into the sliding glass door.

~~~
Down come the lovely pictures of tulips. Up comes a soothing welcome of winter. Breathe, smile, take a walk in the snow and look around. You will notice that nature is teeming with life even in the coldest of cold days.

 

~~~~

“I wonder if the snow loves the trees and fields, that it kisses them so gently? And then it covers them up snug, you know, with a white quilt; and perhaps it says “Go to sleep, darlings, till the summer comes again.”
Lewis Carroll, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass

~~~~

winter comes

Leave a Reply

