Cheery Little Dandelions!

A wonderful reminder that dandelions are Not weeds! 🙂

Grannie Appleseed

For some reason I have always loved dandelions.  As a child I remember my father walking around our yard with his dandelion uprooting tool.  I always thought it a shame since they were such cheery little flowers on the green lawn carpet.  He said they were weeds.  In my garden I never pull up dandelions.  I still love their bright color and soft cheery faces.  Although my Slovenian grandfather used to make dandelion wine, I haven’t yet tried to do so, but I do pick some of the tender leaves to put in salads.  Dandelion leaves are known to contain minerals such as calcium, potassium, phosphorus, zinc and iron.  They also provide vitamins A, B, C, and D and act as a blood purifying agent.  Not only are dandelions an excellent food for us but they also provide food for bees as well.  I just saw a poster this evening…

View original post 50 more words

Leave a Reply

